Irie Now Open–25 Beers on Tap

27 Oct

Irie, the Jamaican/seafood restaurant near Ajax opened its doors last week to mixed reviews. I always like to give a new place a little time to find its footing, but was a little concerned when I went in for lunch and they were out of oysters, crab claws and crab cakes. I will commend them for offering up a nice portion of fish on the catfish plate, though.

Beyond the missing menu items, some of the things I appreciated on my visit were the restaurant’s decor and music (sticking to a theme is always appreciated), the fact that the manager came over and introduced himself, and the fact that Irie’s bar offers something like 25 beers on tap–that may be a record for Oxford.

I revisited on a separate day for a brew and was a bit taken aback by the height of the bar stools. Grown men were having a hard time getting up and down from them. I shudder to think what that will be like at 12:50 a.m. on a Friday night! Regardless, I’m sure I’ll be back for the friendly bartenders and the flowing taps. Oh, and if you’re feeling brave, try the “Big Boy”–a beer that’s the size of three!

UPDATE: Since my last posting, Irie has become one of my favorite bars on the Square to grab a pint. All of the bartenders are friendly and attentive and there’s always a frosty mug and a smile waiting for you. I also like that new beers rotate in every couple of weeks.

UPDATE 2/24/10: Starting today, every Wednesday beginning at Happy Hour at 4 p.m. Irie will offer crawfish for only $5.

UPDATED MENU 10/29/10:

 

Irie on the Square on Urbanspoon

7 Responses to “Irie Now Open–25 Beers on Tap”

  1. heavy eater July 16, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Irie is a great place to eat enjoy yourself. They have an awesome menu and the atmosphere is great. I will definitely be back.

  2. Anonymous July 9, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    I almost walked out on my lunch order at Irie last week after waiting 37 minutes for my food from the time I ordered it. There were approximately ten people in the restaurant, myself included. They didn’t appear to be understaffed. This is my second (and last) bad experience at Irie. Coincidentally, the first bad experience also included undesired bacon on my salad!

    My advice- if you want to go to Irie to drink, have fun. But if you’re there to eat, prepare for disappointment.

  3. Shanna July 8, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I’ve found that people who have dined here either love it or hate it–no middle of the road. More people seem to lean toward the latter. As for me, my husband and I ate there last November and we each ordered po boys. Mine was heavily breaded, deep fried crawfish on a hoagie bun. THAT’S ALL. No mayo, lettuce, nothing. My husband’s was the shrimp version but otherwise exactly the same. I liked that so many beers (and even Woodpecker Cider) were on tap, but almost all of them were beers you can get elsewhere in town. Decor was very nice, service was fine.

  4. Mallory July 5, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Total dissatisfaction. Worst restaurant experience I’ve had in Oxford. Took literally 40 minutes from the time I walked in the door to get my food. It was a salad and a burger for pete’s sake. Then of course the fries and potato were cold. Rude waiter, very short, didn’t even introduce himself. Food was not even worth the $20 we paid for it. We’ll see if the manager even calls me back about my complaint. Doubt it. All in all, just keep walking.

  5. doc and mrs. January 11, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    My husband and I have eaten at Irie on many occasions and have always had a wonderful experience. The people are great and the food is even better. It is obvious that the food is fresh and all hand prepared. We have NEVER eaten anything from the menu that even appeared to have come from a can. I think it is unbelievable that a person would send in a horrible (anonymous) review of a new restaurant on the fact that there was bacon on her salad. AND…since she is from Oxford and a Southerner and should have manners of some sort, could she not have simply REMOVED the bacon from the salad. As for the treatment of the customers, we couldn’t ask to be treated better. How many places do you know of in this day and age where the owner will come to your table to check on the service and the food? NOT MANY. Please give Irie a chance. And..for the anonymous reviewer. I too am from the south, and we have a word for what she is…but being the sweet southern lady that I am…I dare not speak it.

  6. eatingoxford December 28, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I received an email the other day from an Irie customer who asked to remain anonymous. I thought it was still important to post their experience in the event that similar experiences have happened to others while dining at the establishment:
    “I don’t eat bacon because I don’t like the taste of it, but being from the south, I knew that I needed to ask what all was on the seafood salad even though it did not list bacon as one of the ingredients. The waitress told me the ingredients and it seemed good so I ordered it. It arrived and it was cold lump meat crab (looked canned), 4 boiled shrimp, shredded cheddar cheese from a bag, iceberg lettuce, and bacon.
    “I explained that I couldn’t eat bacon and that was one of the reasons why I asked her exactly what was in the salad. She apologized and took the salad away. She then came back with it in a box and set it on the table, explained that they could only take 30% off of it and would charge me for another one. When I tried to explain why I asked about the salad in the first place, she started arguing with me. She told me that in the south, they put bacon on all salads. I am from Oxford, Mississippi and I know that this is not true. I grew up in Oxford (during the time of both the Hoka and the Harvest, two very veggie-friendly places) and I can honestly say that I intimately know every salad in this town, every single last one of them.
    “Perhaps she thought I was a tourist and she could get away with this but I found it insulting and condescending. She then told me that in the future, I should go to a restaurant and tell them I have a “bacon allergy.” Honestly, if this restaurant has any hope at all in the future, they better learn how to treat their customers. Many Rastafarians don’t even eat bacon because they follow the old testament of the Bible, like in Judaism. Also many Rastafarians are vegetarians, so calling this place “Irie” and putting bacon on all your salads is especially ignorant.”

    • cta August 1, 2010 at 10:55 am #

      I had a similar experience. the owner/manager was very arrogant and rude. I’ll never go back. By the looks of the small crowd on a Friday at lunch they won’t be around very long anyway.

Leave a Reply

