The Ghost Soldier–Creepy or Cool?

27 Oct

OK, I’m confused.

I went into The Ghost Soldier the other day to pick up a menu and check out the new digs (it’s in the spot where Blind Pig once stood if you’re wondering). I was under the impression that it was going to be turned into some type of Ole Miss memorabilia bar, but it had a very stark and uninviting atmosphere. Maybe it has something to do with the name Ghost Soldier, or maybe they aren’t through decorating?

I’m also having a hard time grasping how that name will roll off a person’s tongue when they’re looking for the next bar to hit on a Saturday night: “Hey guys, let’s go down some shots at The Ghost Soldier.” I don’t know, maybe it’s just me.

I did, however, find out that they’ve added Adirondack chairs to the back patio, which should be nice on a warm summer day. Plus, they’ve kept a soup/salad/sandwich theme going in the space and are offering menu items such as a grilled chicken salad; California club sandwich; broccoli and cheese soup; and a build-your-own-sandwich option.

If you have your own thoughts/impressions, please let me know at foodie@eatingoxford.com

3 Responses to “The Ghost Soldier–Creepy or Cool?”

  1. Caroline April 2, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Great place! Friendly irish bartender. Great music. Chill atmosphere.

  2. Kat November 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    I was in on Homecoming weekend not realizing it was no longer Blind Pig but rather a Confederacy-themed bar. The decor was very stark, as you mentioned, and the service was sort of unfriendly. And a shot of Jager was $6???

  3. Ole Miss Alumna October 28, 2009 at 1:19 am #

    So I heard this place mentioned on the radio tonight. However, the radio host made it sound like it was called “Go Soldier!” Personally, I am not sure we need another new place to eat in Oxford. But if I’m near there I might check them out. I agree with you about the name too. Apparently the name came from a clothing line the owner’s friend has started.

Leave a Reply

