Best Pizza in Mississippi

4 Apr

credit: slice.seriouseats.com

Have an opinion about where the best pizza in Mississippi can be found? Check out this article from Slice.SeriousEats.com and see if you agree with the picks.

9 Responses to “Best Pizza in Mississippi”

  1. pizzalover April 15, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Tribecca Allie and Sal & Mookie’s, absolutely–they’re the best pies I’ve had in a (sadly) pizza-deprived state/region, and Tribecca would still be a great choice in any major US city. Square Pizza, Proud Larry’s, Old Venice–sorry, but NO. I’d rather order from a chain than go to the Oxford independents, which is downright depressing.
    As for Bianchi’s in Hattiesburg, it’s nothing to go out of your way for. I did, and experienced a bad case of the blands….

  2. Rob Cornelius April 6, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Can’t wait to try Tribecca. Tate’s got a mean roast beef sandwich if its any consolation. Also fun when he plays the guitar while you eat, but I know neither of those things is good pizza.

  3. Katie April 5, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Agreed on Square Pizza. I have tried it now 3 times and it just doesn’t work. Maybe if you are drunk or something it taste good. I think Proud Larry’s is good and I’m sad they weren’t even mentioned. Old Venice is great too but their service is just awful lately. I mean no one should have to wait 20 minutes to get a menu and drinks after being seated! I even think Newk’s pizza are a nice alternative. I’ll be interested to check out Soulshine. A friend of mine didn’t speak fondly of the owners’ and sometimes rudeness will stop me from being a patron. But I’ll at least try them out!

    Has anyone seen the PizzaTV van driving in Oxford? What is that all about?

    • eatingoxford April 5, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      Hi Katie,

      The PizzaTV van is owned by PMQ Pizza Magazine (I’m the editor-in-chief). It’s the vehicle we use when we’re out on the road looking for the next great pizza story! I’m so glad you’ve noticed it! You can check out some of our videos on http://www.PizzaTV.com.

      Liz

  4. Nonsense April 5, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    You guys are nuts. Square Pizza’s pizza is fantastic, and so are their sandwiches.

  5. Shedder April 4, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Agreed Jooky agreed, Square Pizza is awful. I would say downright nasty but that would be rude. But I suppose if you like your crust to taste like cardboard then you’re in luck.

  6. Xmastime April 4, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I just stumbled upon this site from Slice, and am loving it. I lived in Oxford from 1995-97, and I dont know if it’s still around, but dont sleep on Kroger’s chicken! 🙂

    http://xmastime.blogspot.com/2007/05/fried-chicken-friday_11.html

  7. Jooky April 4, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    On the best Pizza article- bingo on Tribecca Allie. But SQUARE PIZZA???? Are they out of their minds???? Easily the WORST pizza in the state, and perhaps the worst pizza I have ever had in my life.

    • Sally April 18, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      I’m glad Brooklyn Pizza in Gulfport made the cut. It’s so good I dream about.

Leave a Reply

