Lusa Pastry Cafe Expanding

24 Aug

Can’t get enough of the bread and pastries at Lusa Pastry Cafe on North Lamar? Well, thanks to a tip from the Col. Reb Sez blog, we now know that the cafe is in the process of opening two additional locations here in Oxford.

One location will be in the Belk shopping center, a few doors down from Newk’s, and the other will be on Thacker Road off Hwy 6 in the old Bungalow location.

Stay tuned for opening dates as they become available.

UPDATE 10/23/12: The location on Thacker Rd. is scheduled to open this Thursday, Oct. 25.

Lusa Pastry Cafe on Urbanspoon

6 Responses to “Lusa Pastry Cafe Expanding”

  1. Richard Rehfeldt September 9, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Visited there Utep weekend and found them busy and tried to buy some salami but it was past it’s purchase by date so settled for two pastries for my wife but she indicated she liked the ones at honey bee better. They seemed very nice but were not inexpensive as most things in Oxford are not. Never have understood that but just accept. Maybe we should all vote with our pocketbooks and get these establishments back to reality but probably just fighting windmills

  2. Shanna September 3, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    I do think it’s…odd…maybe even a bit rude…that they are opening a few doors down from Honey Bee Bakery.

  3. ColRebSez August 24, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    I wrote all kinds of nice things about them on my blog and then my wife and I tried to eat Sunday brunch there and no one would wait on us. I hate it when servers intentionally won’t make eye contact because they are afraid they will have to do some work. I wish them well, though, and have enjoyed my other visits.

    http://colrebsez.blogspot.com/2012/08/lusas-to-have-three-locations-while.html

  4. Lauren Box Hitchcock August 24, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I agree with superstoval; I’m glad they’re doing well enough to expand, but I’d like to see more attention to quality at Lusa’s. I used to eat there pretty often for lunch because I absolutely love their soup and grilled cheese, but the last couple of times I went, their desserts seemed stale or dried out. I haven’t been back for a while, but I’ll definitely have to try them out at their new locations. The place on Thacker is right near my house, so it’ll be really convenient.

  5. superstovall August 24, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    I like this place and I’m glad they’re doing well enough to expand. They can bake some excellent bread – the Grandma’s is similar to a peasant loaf or a pugliese, depending on how they bake it – with a nice crust, good crumb, etc. I’d like to see their consistency improve though, maybe if they baked fewer things and concentrated on doing them properly. Like not selling loaves by weight. Selling bread this way is odd and needs to be fixed. Because their bread has become more dense over time (too dense, IMO), the last loaf they rang up for me was $13. I had them put it back.

    • Katie August 24, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Wow great news! I love where they are now! The parking is wonderful. Hopefully they don’t over do it though. Three locations is kind of lofty IMO. They have the best petit fours and Chocolate Mousse.

Leave a Reply

